At least the media does do a good job informing us of as many of the scams out there as they can.  I always have given attention to stories about scams and of course I do so to protect myself.

I went to my free email account a few minutes ago and LO!  What awaited me but great news!!!!  I will share it with you.


Dear Sir/Madam,
Congratulations!

We are pleased to announce you as one of the 3 lucky winners in the Uk
National Lottery draw held today. All 3 winning addresses were randomly
selected from a batch of 5,000,000 international emails. Your email address
emerged alongside to others as a 3rd category winner in this month’s draw.

Consequently, you have therefore been approved for a total pay out of
£500,000.00 Pounds (Five Hundred Thousand pounds) only. The following
particulars are attached to your lotto payment order:

Sure.  The good thing is this scam email provided me with a good laugh.  I have never seen one until today.  I hear on the local news every month or so about a resident who still believes this stuff  and winds up following directions and losing all they have.  Many times it is the older set but it happens to the uninformed younger group as well.  What a shame.  The old axiom follows:  If it looks too good to be true, it is.

  Even worse in my mind is not removing all the addresses of the previous forwardings.  To my mind that is careless and not being a good friend.  Don’t leave my address on a forward please, nor those of your friends and relatives or even strangers who got the forward before you.  If you must forward an email, please clean the thing up.  I will say here that when I get something that says FW FW FW FW in the title line I delete it unread.  If I have seen the body of the email despite my intentions and I see all those names and email addresses, I delete unread. 

I do believe I am being the mama hen again.  Sorry.  When I go get my hair done here shortly, I will see if I can get that mama thing washed right out of my hair. 

Here…have a cookie.  That’ll make the mean ol’ mommy go ‘way.

