I was watching NOVA on PBS.  It was about amber and the episode was called "Jewel of the Earth."
 
Talk about a great program, this one was.  Well, almost all Nova programming is.
 
I am familiar with amber and what it is, what it does and the wonderful result for us when we find it.  Many times it contains bits of plant, insect or animal matter.  If you are fortunate it will have an entire specimin within.
 
I bought a piece of amber several years ago at too high a price for the size of it.  But I was enchanted as it has an entire ant inside.  So, I hauled it out of the curio cabinet where it resides with my fossils and gemstone roughs.  Oh, it glows and since my oldest son is here, I got out the 10X loupe ( we are all avid coin collectors) and we looked at the ant again.
 
Of course, it newly inspires me to acquire more.  I am always on the lookout for fossils and gemstone roughs and tend to forget amber.  But not now. I had my eye on a 20 carat peridot rough but I have changed direction.  I have been influenced by the amber yet again.
 
Think of the treasure within many of the fossilized resin pieces!! 
 
They did examine the impossibility of a Jurassic Park type event as the DNA within the plant/insect is useless. It’s there, but not usable in the way scientists wish it was.  Knocks that out of the park, (no pun intended) dang it.
 
They, of course, went into far more detail than I just did.  Perhaps some of you saw the show.  It was well worth the hour’s time.  If NOVA and shows like that were on to the exclusion of anything else, I would watch all the time.  I love that sort of programming.
 
I know where I can get my hands on some amber so I think I will make that my next venture.

ow fascinating it is all that you can infer from the type of insect that is often captured in the drop of resin that is amber.

 
 The narrator took the viewers through such a surmisement.  I know, no such word but I just coined it.
 
The scientists had opened a drop of amber that was given to the narrator 60 years ago by a refugee from the Baltics… and removed the insect. In this case, it was a bee.  Millions of years old and yet they fancied they could tell what her forest was like and what she was doing when the resin oozed onto her.  She still had sacks of pollen on her hind legs.  And it was fig pollen. 
 
There are no signs  thus far that fig trees were present where she was, however there appears to be irrefutable evidence that there was indeed a number of fig trees.
 
That realized, one could try to determine the probable weather story in that time and put together with other evidence found in various amber insects, one could assume a climate and even fellow creatures.  A way that the assumption happens is knowing "prey" even then.  If the creature existed as is evidenced by their presence in amber, they had to survive. And survival depended upon getting food.  I am not speaking only of bees at this time.  They, of course are not carniverous.  Some wasps are to a degree and there were known species of wasps also captured in the sticky goo hence the assumptions grew. Fascinating topic.  One  I can’t get enough of.  I found a 200 dollar piece of amber.  I may just buy so as to hold history in my hand.      

 Here is the evening sky an hour ago.  I love cloud formations like that.
 
 

This is me wiggling my little toesies while taking the cloud pictures while dodging hummingbirds.

