Who has a grill pan and knows how to use it?  I saw a recipe, but did not save it..too late now.. for chicken, using a grill pan.  How hard can it be I thought?  It’s not hard but I feel as though I have missed a step or something.
 
I followed directions to clean the cast iron pan first.  It was preseasoned and I did exactly as they said.  After cleaning it, I wiped vegetable oil on its bottom and laid the thick chicken breasts on it.  I put it in the oven..and I wonder if that is where I erred?  Should I have cooked on the stove top and not put it in the oven?  There are grill marks or indentations on them, but after turning the chicken and letting it cook in the oven till it was white inside and still had a few juices..I had to take it out.  It did not brown.  What did I do wrong? Remember, I couldn’t leave them in there lomnger as it would have dried the chicken out and toughened it.
 
I am making a  French bread pudding with dried cherries in it.  It is in the oven as we speak.  I will put the recipe here (I’ll have to type it out) after I taste it and see how it is.
 
The windows were finished yesterday on the outside.  It took a good 5 hours or so and it looks great!  I could not be any more pleased than I am with their appearance and with the increased warmth in the house and faint lessening of noise.  I used to hear the next door neighbors car doors slamming all of the time and the engine sound.  I knew when they were coming or going whether I liked it or not.  I noticed this morning that I don’t know when they last came or went.
That’s a good thing.
 
I am cooking because my oldest will be here for the weekend.  I always look forward to that and try to fix him something that he doesn’t cook for himself, as a treat.  So he’s having not very grilled chicken breasts with a grilling mix of spices on it…some rice with sauce, and some green beans.  I hope the french bread pudding turns out well.  It’s still in the oven,  An hour and 15 minutes at 325 degrees or until it’s golden brown.  I could see the cherries are plumping nicely. 
 
So, ‘buddy, can you lend a hand’ with my grill pan dilemma?
MUAH!
 
 PS:  Here is the recipe.  Oh my goodness this is delicious!!!!!
 
1 loaf of stale French bread
1 Qt. milk
3 eggs
1 1/2 cups of sugar
2 Tablespoons vanilla extract (just duit)
 1 cup dried cherries
Heavy cream for serving if desired
 
Cut bread into 1 inch cubes and put in a big bowl.  Pour milk over it and let stand an hour (in fridge)
Preheat oven to 325.  Butter bottom and sides of a 9x13x2 pan.
In another bowl, mix the eggs, sugar and vanilla.  Add cherries and pour into the bread mixture. 
Stir to combine, and put into the oven middle rack for 1 hr. and 10 minutes or until golden. Cool, and refrigerate over night.  Reheat if desired.
