The oldest was here and gone.  The middle one is in NYC now.  He’ll be gone about 10 or so days.  It’s his last hurrah before school starts again.  Me, I’d still be recovering from going to New Zealand.  Don’t know what the youngest has on tap.  But I hope he is enjoying his weekend and that you guys are enjoying your weekend.  I am dropping over with sleepiness.  I stayed up too late talking to the oldest.  For the first time in a long time, Miss Catt graced my bed with her presence.  Since she got sick, she stayed away from me in droves.  Last night after midnight she came in, hopped up into her accustomed place…my chest and then snuggled into my neck and shoulder. 

That had me nailed down in that one position as no way was I going to disturb her.  So I laid there dozing in and out with the light blaring (if I turned it off, she would have left me) and her snugged up into my neck and holding my forearm with her two arms, her head on my upper arm.  There we stayed..her sound asleep and me wishing I was.  Finally I turned out the light when she was sound asleep and we laid there with me drifting in and out dozing.  Finally, she left, I turned over and I racked up about 5 hours of sleep before she sounded reveille.  That’s OK though.  I doubt that I will have her company again until it is quite chilly out and the blankets are back on the bed.

Here is a recipe I found to try yesterday.  I had fresh blueberries and didn’t know what to do with them aside from the standard muffins etc.

I made it..it was delicious and could not be easier.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups fresh blue berries
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened (I used I Can’t believe it’s Not Butter)
  • 12 slices homemade-style white bread, about 3/4 pound,
    crusts removed
  • Ground cinnamon, for sprinkling
  • Vanilla ice cream or whipped cream as an accompaniment

Directions

Pick over the blueberries and remove the stems. Rinse well, place in a heavy
large saucepan, and sir in 1/4 cup water and the sugar. Bring to a boil and
cook, uncovered, until the berries are slightly softened and the juices are
released, about 10 minutes. Stir gently from time to time. Remove from the
heat, cool slightly, and stir in the lemon juice.

Spread the butter on the bread slices and sprinkle with the cinnamon. Line
the bottom of an 8 1/2 by 4 1/2 by 2 1/2-inch loaf pan with some of the bread
slices, trimming to form a tight fit. Spread 1/3 of the berries and juice
evenly over the bread. Repeat to make 3 layers in all.

Refrigerate for 6 to 8 hours. Spoon onto plates and serve with vanilla ice
cream or whipped cream.

