I was having the most awful time just getting a book light out of its packaging yesterday, and that reminded me of a rant I had meant to post before.  That is the so-called "clam shell" packaging.  That extremely rigid and hard to open packaging is something that we can’t get away from and "they" get away with.
 
I have read countless times how so many people are injured (I know I have been) when trying to open those packs.  Most people are cut on their hands or arms if the packaging slips while they are struggling with it.  If they are unfortunate enough to be sitting..then sometimes they will slip on the hard plastic and cut or puncture their leg.  I saw something in a popular consumer magazine that the packaging is such to allow shipment from who knows where in the world, and it not be broken.  The heck with YOU and whether or not you are broken trying to open the thing!  There is no reason for packaging to be like that.  They do that because they can.
 
It was 47 degrees here when I got up.  68 in the house.  SUNNY!  I will enjoy that while I still can!!  We had 4 inches of rain just on Saturday here where I live. 
 
I got my cable bill yesterday.  It was breathtaking.  It went up $23.00.  Yes, twenty three dollars from last month to this!  Because they can. And they said their rates would rise again November 1.  Also, looking at their bill details, I had not realized until today that I pay sales tax on everything every month.  Each service.  Sales tax on digital phone, And the franchise fees are enough to make you look twice. 
 
I see the batteries in my cordless mouse are "critical" from the message that just came up so I will change those. 
 
Go forth and have a fun day and don’t do anything I wouldn’t do. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

